Home Page

Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

Early Years Foundation Stage

Picture 1
Picture 2

The Foundation Stage of learning starts at birth and ends at the end of the Reception Year.

In our school the Foundation Stage consists of the Nursery and Reception Classes and the curriculum is the same for both classes, with the focus on children’s individual learning.

All children engage in a balance of adult led and child initiated activities and the day is organised by providing structured play, both indoors and outdoors, to promote learning across the seven areas of the curriculum.


The areas are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal and Social Development
  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


We work in topics such as – Mini-beasts, Water, Bears, Traditional Stories and Dinosaurs.

The children become accustomed to making choices as they take part in activities and this helps children gain independence, self-confidence and self esteem.

At the end of the Reception year, children are assessed against Early Learning Goals.